NIST Cybersecurity Framework Training & Certification

In partnership with itSM Solutions LLC, New Horizons is proud to offer a new cybersecurity workforce development program based on the NIST Cybersecurity Framework (NCSF). This innovative, cybersecurity workforce development program is built around an NCSF Controls Factory™ model created by Larry Wilson, the CISO in the university President’s office. The itSM program teaches individuals and organizations the knowledge, skills and abilities to engineer, instrument, test, maintain, and continually improve an NCSF program.

The program and its author have won the following industry awards:

  • Security Magazine’s Most Influential People in Security, 2016
  • SANS People Who Made a Difference in Cybersecurity Award, 2013
  • Information Security Executive (ISE) nominee for Executive of the Year for North America, 2013
  • ISE North America Project Award Winner I for the Academic and Public Sector Category, 2013

5 Practices of the NIST Cybersecurity Framework

In 2013, the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) formulated a set of principles known colloquially known as the NIST Cybersecurity Framework. There are five main practices emphasized throughout this documentation, which has become a popular frame of reference for both the public and private sectors:

  1. Identify: Can the organization understand possible risks to its data, governance processes and IT systems?
  2. Protect: Are measures such as access controls and adequate training programs in place to defend against common threats?
  3. Detect: Is it easy to flag anomalies and unusual events via solutions such as continuous monitoring software?
  4. Respond: What procedures are in place for analyzing, mitigating and communicating about a security event?
  5. Recover: How resilient are the organization's operations and what could be done to the improve them?

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), the technical standards agency, has recently released the widely-referenced Cybersecurity Framework (version 1.1), incorporating input from industry and other stakeholders.

The Framework Now Includes:

  • A new section on correlating cybersecurity risk management metrics to organizational objectives
  • Expanded guidance for mitigating supply chain cyber risk, and underscores this new component by adding a Supply Chain Risk Management Category to the Framework Core
  • Addresses vulnerability disclosures
  • Refined language on authentication, identification, and authorization
  • Treatment of the risks inherent in the Internet of Things (IoT), in addition to critical infrastructure.

Benefits of NIST Cybersecurity Framework (NCSF) Certification

All programs come with a certificate of completion and continuing education credits, such as PDU and CEUs.

Get started today by reviewing the NCSF Certification levels and requirements below:

The NCSF Foundation Certification Course

This course outlines current cybersecurity challenges and explains how organizations that implement an NCSF program can mitigate these risks. This program is focused on candidates who need a basic understanding of the NCSF to perform their daily jobs as executives, accountants, lawyers or information technology professionals.

View the NCSF Foundation Certification Course Outline

The NCSF Practitioner Certification Course

This program is focused on candidates who need a detailed understanding of the NCSF to perform their daily roles as cybersecurity engineers, testers or operations professionals.

View the NCSF Practitioner Certification Course Outline

Are you looking for a self-paced learning option? New Horizons offers NIST On-Demand training for several courses. View all of the on-demand details here.

Contact Us